When you delete a message on OG WhatsApp, it disappears. However, it didn’t go away forever. Your messages are stored in the cloud (Google Drive or iCloud). They are also stored on your device.

Are deleted OG WhatsApp messages gone forever?

How to search OG WhatsApp chat messages ?

Trying to find a specific message in your huge OG WhatsApp chat log? There are two ways to search so you can quickly find what you’re looking for.

If you’re not sure who the conversation is with, you can search the entire archive from the main Chats window. Just pull down and a search bar will appear at the top. Insert what you’re searching for and it will show up.

This is fine if you don’t know where the message is, but it doesn’t give you much context about the result.

If you know which contact’s messages to search for, a better search tool is built in. First, open the chat you want to search for.

Then, if you’re on an iPhone, tap your name at the top of the chat (in my case, Justin Pot), then tap Chat Search.

On Android, tap the three dots and select Search.

Now enter any word or phrase you are looking for. OG WhatsApp will tell you how many times it has appeared. Justin and I have collectively mentioned “birthday” three times. You can click the up and down arrows to browse through each mention of the search term. This way you can see the full context of each message.

Are deleted OG WhatsApp messages gone forever?

The ability to delete messages on OG WhatsApp is a very handy feature.

However, sometimes, the message ends up being deleted by mistake, and then it cannot be retrieved. That’s been the case so far, at least, as according to a report, OG WhatsApp will soon add a feature that might help fix the problem.

According to WABetainfo, a platform that tracks the latest updates to the instant messaging platform, the undo option is set to roll out on the iOS beta version of WhatsApp mod. Notably, the same feature was rolled out to the beta version of Android a few days ago.

The report has a screenshot showing how the feature works. Whenever a user sends a message and wants to delete it, they will see the “Delete for me” option. Now if you delete a message then it will be permanently deleted. However, users can now click on the Trash option and see an Undo button. There’s no mention of what the time limit for using the undo button is, but it won’t last forever. Once the message deletion option is gone, the user will not be able to undo the action.

The feature is part of the OG WhatsApp beta for iOS version 22.18.0.70 and has rolled over to beta users. However, the report does mention that this feature has been released to some beta testers. “If you don’t have this feature, wait for the next few updates,” the report states.

Since it’s already in beta, we can expect the feature to roll out to all users as well. Having said that, quite a few features didn’t pass the beta stage, but it’s one that users can expect as it’s such a handy feature.

Recommended reading:

What is OG WhatsApp Pro?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.